Organizers

Organizing Committee

President

Masao Kokubo [Mayor of Hokudan Town]

Vice Presidents

Daniela Pantosti [Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica,

Rome: ILP II-5]

Tokihiko Matsuda [Seinan Gakuin University]

Committee Members

Koichi Idaka [Deputy Mayor, Hokudan Town]

Shigeru Sakai

[President, Hokudan Board of Education]

Kinsuke Nakatani [Hokudan-cho Earthquake

Memorial Park]

Atsumasa Okada [Kyoto University]

Alan Hull [New Zealand Ministry of Research,

Sciences and Technology] Yoshihiro Kinugasa

[Tokyo Institute of Technology: ILP II-3]

Operation Committee

Director

Takashi Nakata [Hiroshima University]

Committee Members

Koichi Nakatani [Hokudan Town]

Hajime Miyamoto [Hokudan Town]

Atsumasa Okada [Kyoto University]

Noboru Chida [Oita University]

Shigehiro Kato

[Hyogo Prefectural Museum of Natural History]

Koji Okumura [Hiroshima University]

Kenji Satake [Geological Survey of Japan]

Hiroyuki Tsutsumi [Kyoto University]

Secretariat

Sceretary

Koji Okumura [Hiroshima University]

Staff

Javed Malik, Keita Takada, Hideaki Goto, Sunami Nakajima, Yasuhiro Kumahara, Kaoru Tani-guchi, Hisao Kondo, Ichiro Sugishita [Hiroshima University], Tomoko Kawayoshi [Hokudan Town], Myra Leounaki [University of

Thessaloniki]

Address

Department of Geography, Hiroshima University Higashi-Hiroshima, 739-8522 Hiroshima, Japan

kojiok@ipc.hiroshima-u.ac.jp

Fax: +81-824-240320 Phone: +81-824-246657

Sponsors

Hokudan Town

Hokudan Board of Education

ICSU-ICL International Lithosphere Program

Task Group II-5

"Earthquake Recurrence Through Time"

Task Group II-2

"World Map of Active Faults"

Co-sponsors

Geological Survey of Japan, Agency of Industrial Science and Technology, Ministry of International Trade and Industry

The Science Council of Japan, Liaison Committee on Quaternary Research

International Union for Quaternary Research, Commission on Neotectonics

with supports from

Science and Technology Agency, Prime Minister's Office

Geographical Survey Institute, Ministry of Construction

Agency of Cultural Affairs, Ministry of Education, Science, Sports, and Culture

Hyogo Prefecture

Hyogo Prefectural Board of Education

Seismological Society of Japan

Japan Association of Quaternary Research

Association of Japanese Geographers

Geological Society of Japan

Japan Society of Civil Engineers

Japanese Geomorphological Union

Japan Society of Engineering Geology

Research Group for Active Faults of Japan

Hokudan Co. Ltd.