International Symposium Hosted by the Institute for Amphibian Biology, Hiroshima University

“Frontiers in Amphibian Biology: Endangered Species Conservation and Genome Editing” was Finished.

Closing Remarks

    On behalf of the symposium’s organizing committee, we would like to thank all of you, the invited speakers, moderators, and participants for contributions to the poster sessions. We have greatly enjoyed the talks as well as all of the poster presentations and discussions, and we feel confident in declaring this symposium a great success.

    We hope that it has inspired future investigations, stimulated collaborative endeavors, and established new friendships, leading to overall benefits for the study of amphibian biology. We also hope that you all had a productive, fruitful, and enjoyable experience.

    Finally, I’d like to thank you all again most sincerely, and I hope we will all be able to continue our collaboration in the future. Best regards.

Sincerely yours.


Masayuki Sumida, Ph. D.

Professor and Director

Institute for Amphibian Biology, Graduate School of Science, Hiroshima University

Chairperson of the Organizing Committee of IABHU International Symposium

Program Download LinkEnglish_top_files/program_fron_amph_biolX1a.pdf
Winners of Travel AwardTravel_Award.html

  1. Date: March 27–28, 2014

  2. Venue: Building E, Graduate School of Science, Hiroshima University, Higashi-Hiroshima Campus, 1-3-1 Kagamiyama, Higashi-Hiroshima, Hiroshima 739-8526, Japan (Maps: Hiroshima University Higashi-Hiroshima Campus

  3. Travel awards: We offered travel awards for young poster presentation applicants aged 40 years or under and selected the winners by referee reading of the poster abstracts of the applicants. Nine presenters from overseas and five presenters from Japan won 100,000 yen and 30,000 yen of awards, respectively.  Winners List

Invited Speakers (alphabetically)

  1. Amphibian Conservation

  2. Dr. Koichi Goka (National Institute for Environmental Studies, Japan)

  3. Dr. Robert Jehle (University of Salford, UK)

  4. Dr. Masafumi Matsui (Kyoto University, Japan)

  5. Dr. Miguel Vences (Braunschweig University of Technology, Germany)

  6. Dr. Kelly Zamudio (Cornell University, U.S.A.)

Amphibian Genome and Genome Editing

  1. Dr. Enrique Amaya (University of Manchester, UK)

  2. Dr. Takuya Nakayama (University of Virginia, U.S.A.)

  3. Dr. Hajime Ogino (Nagahama Institute of Bio-Science and Technology, Japan)

  4. Dr. Masanori Taira (University of Tokyo, Japan)

  5. Dr. Hui Zhao (The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong China)

Organizing Committee

Masayuki Sumida (Chairperson), Yoshio Yaoita, Atsushi Kurabayashi (Chair of Secretariat), Keisuke Nakajima, Ichiro Tazawa, Takeshi Igawa, and Islam Mohammed Mafizul
Institute for Amphibian Biology, Graduate School of Science, Hiroshima University, Japan



Last update: April 11, 2014